Overall Rating3.433.433.433.433.43
Quality3.433.433.433.433.43
Dependability3.573.573.573.573.57
Serviceability3.863.863.863.863.86
Effectiveness (AC & Heat)33333

Carrier APU

Carrier

Carrier Transicold introduced its ComfortPro auxiliary power unit (APU) at the Mid-America Trucking Show. A new agreement between Carrier, a United Technologies Corp business unit, and Teleflex Inc makes Carrier Transicold the exclusive worldwide distributor of the ComfortPro APU.

The ComfortPro APU can reduce engine idling time 90 percent, according to Tom Cunningham of Carrier Transicold. It can also save truck operators thousands of dollars annually in fuel costs, while also reducing emissions, engine wear, and associated maintenance costs. It also provides cab climate control — both heating and cooling. It can provide 120-volt AC power, 40 amps of truck battery charging, truck engine warming, and start/stop operation.

The ComfortPro all-electric architecture shares the same Deltek hybrid diesel-electric technology found in Carrier’s Vector 1800MT trailer refrigeration unit. Its 4,000-watt generator is driven by a Kubota diesel engine — the same engine used in other Carrier transport refrigeration systems. Cab cooling is provided by a sealed electric-powered compressor located in the cab.

The APU is housed in a weather-tight case that mounts on the truck frame rail. Oil can be changed and filters for oil, air, and fuel can be serviced in less than five minutes, Carrier says.

Incoming search terms:

11 Customer Reviews of “Carrier APU”

Review by jrc ent.inc, February 9, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
Overall Rating 44444
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 55555

We love our DYNASYS other than the noise from exhaust system
it is loud for others not in the cab, but outside. The system has been great evan in -25′ temps. We can say at this point we are very happy, and look forward to DYNASYS correcting the noise problem, then we can say great job and thank you!!!!

Review by shoy, August 8, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
Overall Rating 44444
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 44444

Just had one put on about a month ago, I have about 100 hrs on it now. I’m very happy with it so far, I will post another review soon as the summer is over. But it does a good job !

Review by Casper, September 9, 2011

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
Overall Rating 44444
Quality 44444
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 44444
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 44444

I’ve had a Carrier APU for several years – 9600 hours. The unit has been relatively bullet-proof with just routine maintenance (oil & filters, once in awhile a belt or two) every 1000 hours. Absolutely no wiring problems or issues with the electronics. I do vacuum out my evaporator (under the bunk) and try to keep it breathing right. Parts/service is relatively easy to find through the extensive Carrier Dealer network. Some truckstops have parts and I’ve heard Speedco does too, but I’m not a big fan of Speedco. We did replace the radiator at 9000 hours because the bottom had rubbed through-need a better isolator from vibration. At the same time we replaced the water pump because it was starting to weep. I’m not sure what the BTU’s are on the A/C and heat (12,000 & 10,000 I believe). I run north in the winter (ME to WA and everywhere in between) and I’ve never been cold at night. I don’t know if it would have enough heat to handle Canada though. It gets pretty chilly up there, eh? The A/C is one of my minor complaints. In fairness to Carrier, I do have a black Freightliner Classic Condo so I am trying to cool a large area, black is a heat magnet and Freightliner is not known for spending a lot of money on insulation. It works fairly well into the 90s but today in Yuma it was 113-not a good day! Another very minor complaint is the exhaust system. My Carrier APU is fairly quiet when compared to a RigMaster (they’re almost as loud as an irrigation pump!) but I am noisy compared to the TriPac, which to me, sounds like a gopher farting. The Thermo-King is pretty quiet.

Review by Charles R Smith, November 24, 2012

  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 22222
Overall Rating 44444
Quality 33333
Dependability 33333
Serviceability 33333
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 22222

I need a owners manual for my apu.

Review by Charles R Smith, November 24, 2012

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 22222
Overall Rating 44444
Quality 44444
Dependability 44444
Serviceability 33333
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 22222

need owners manual

Review by david, March 1, 2015

I have a carrier pc6000. Here’s the problem, apu turns on no problem, a few minutes if it running alone I start the heater n not more then 20min if it running the apu seems to wanna die so the heater turns off automatically and when the engine settles up, the heater turns on again.. It does this a lot.. I can’t run the unit for more then a few he’s cause it keeps wanting to die on me.. Please help..

Review by david, March 1, 2015

I have a carrier pc6000. Here’s the problem, apu turns on no problem, a few minutes if it running alone I start the heater n not more then 20min if it running the apu seems to wanna die so the heater turns off automatically and when the engine settles up, the heater turns on again.. It does this a lot.. I can’t run the unit for more then a few hrs cause it keeps wanting to die on me.. Please help..

Review by RONNIE DUKE, May 16, 2015

not keeping hose under ping truck cool during the day bottom hose under sleeper blows good one hose the vents not good an I sleep on top. I have a studio sleeper .what is going on got a used unit only 6 months old it should be cool better

Review by RONNIE DUKE, May 16, 2015

help if you can

Review by Joh, July 23, 2016

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 44444
  • 22222
Overall Rating 22222
Quality 22222
Dependability 22222
Serviceability 44444
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 22222

It’s very loud I don’t like it in hot temps over 100 it shuts down its my first APu not impressed at all

Review by Dax, September 1, 2016

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 22222
Overall Rating 22222
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 33333
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 22222

2016 comfortpro apu, 2600 hours on it after 2 years. Trading it for a thermoking first chance I get. If it’s 100 degrees outside you can forget about using it longer than an hour. It will over heat and auto shut off which will throw a code that no dealership knows how to fix. The AC struggles when the outside temp is in the 90’s. They are not designed well, the box and fan design is ridiculous because there’s no real way for the heat to escape especially when you have a fan that’s covered by a shroud. Save yourself the headache and get you a thermoking.

Write a Review of Carrier APU

Overall Rating
Quality
Dependability
Serviceability
Effectiveness (AC & Heat)