Overall Rating1.441.441.441.441.44
Quality1.441.441.441.441.44
Dependability1.441.441.441.441.44
Serviceability1.561.561.561.561.56
Effectiveness (AC & Heat)1.331.331.331.331.33

Rigmaster Truck Generator

Rigmaster

Rigmaster LG200-K           Rigmaster MTS-T4K

Turn off your engine and turn on a Rigmaster. Higher fuel prices and reduced truck engine efficiencies due to changing EPA requirements and the adoption of ULSD have all worked to create a challenging operating environment for fleets and owner operators. The RigMaster APU will relieve growing operating costs and stabilize the risks of a volatile market.

RigMaster Power is a complete stand-alone Auxiliary Power Unit that runs all night on what your idling truck engine burns in two hours.

Features:-

Designed for the Long Haul with a 1 year/2,000 hour warranty and an optional 2 year/4000 hour warranty. At RigMaster, we understand the harsh environments that APU’s must operate in. It is our focus and attention to detail combined with quality components that separate RigMaster from all the others. RigMaster uses quality components from leading manufacturers designed for the Heavy Duty Truck Market.

Fastest Installation Time in the Industry. RigMaster’s non-integrated three component design means installation takes half the time of other APU’s. RigMaster’s flexible mounting options will accommodate all Class 8 trucks and can be located on either side of the truck and behind fairings with NO drilling of the frame required.

6kW generator provides convenient electrical power for in-cab accessories, and can power your engine block heater for easier cold weather starting. The 6000W power comes from a belt driven generator, not an inverter, which can be harmful to both batteries and alternators. You can stay safe, comfortable and well rested for another day on the road.

RigMaster’s 60 Amp DC Alternator will charge your truck batteries eliminating the costs of expensive “Jump Starts” and put more money into your bottom line.

The RigMaster also offers AutoStart features for added convenience and savings:

Low battery start up – means you’ll never have to worry about whether or not the truck will start after an extended absence.
Date and time AutoStart programming – allows you to start the RigMaster before you get in; to warm or cool the cab or power the blockheater for easier engine starts in cold weather.
Automatic temperature control start up/shut down – this is a great feature for even more fuel savings during extended absences in extreme weather.

Year-Round Power
RigMaster’s automotive-style heat and A/C system does not consume ANY of the 6,000W of hotel load power available to the driver, while other APU’s climate control systems consume 75%-100% of the available 120v power.

Easy Maintenance
The RigMaster APU was designed for easy servicing, utilizing components designed for the heavy duty truck market and includes these trouble-free maintenance features:

• 1000 hour maintenance intervals
• Self-tensioning serpentine belt for easy maintenance
• In-cab electrical outlet contains GFI Breaker for easy power reset.
• Consumer parts commercially available

Greater Temperature Operating Range
The RigMaster APU has been tested to 130°F at an elevation of 1200FT. And its dual fan set up eliminates overheat conditions common with other products. Heavy duty air filter utilizes outside air. Now available with new high-efficiency compressor for improved cooling.

Incoming search terms:

9 Customer Reviews of “Rigmaster Truck Generator”

Review by Brian Alexander, August 15, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
Overall Rating 11111
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 11111
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

Poor Design, Unreliable, Cheaply put together. A/C generator fails continuously, 4 replacement in 3 years, Motor leaks oil, warrenty is only good where you bought it. Would not recommed to any one.

Review by John Michel, December 15, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
Overall Rating 11111
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 11111
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

They have some realy bad engineering, constant problems, would not wish this on any one. The perkins engine has not given any problems, but all other aspects of the apu are very poor. They must have rushed it to market while quality control was out to lunch. collant resivoir has to be refiled every 2 to 3 days, they cant seem to fix the problem. Engine support broke in half, could not get a new one, so it was welded. 3 a/c compressors 2 a/c hoses, 3 electric fans, 2 fell apart as a result of vibration, starter wire broken off the starter both idler pulleys needed to be replaced, 6000 wat generator wires inside control box burned up because they were wire nuted together and water was allowed to short curcit the unit. The unit had most of the problems within the first year. Check back next week for an update on what’s next.
I would not give the unit a single star. Don’t wast your money. I think it was $6800.00

Review by William, June 21, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
Overall Rating 11111
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 11111
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

What a piece of junk, I’am replacing this ” I want to be a apu” with a Dynasys APU. 4,100 hours and the perkins engine leaks oil,the a/c compressor is shot for the 5th time {it is a sanden} the generator is loosing the bearings for the 3rd time.the belts need retentioned every 50 hours.the glow plugs have been replaced 7 times and the condenser fan has failed 6 times.I would not wish this poorly made unit to my dog.

Review by Arody Mendez, February 11, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
Overall Rating 11111
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 11111
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

RIGMASTER. BAD INVESTMENT, do not BUY. constant oroblems.
Fan need to fix or replace often
A/C replace 3 compressors
Generator need a new one $800 part $120 hr labor
Summer time. A/C not stong enough to cool the bunk
Engine. to laud
Contol panel. replace 2
Need special air filter(MANN c1140) $15 for one and need to be special order, you don’t find this at autoparts store.
leaks oil like crazy
Need to put coolant every 2 days
and much more, so do not buy rigmaster unit, do not buy, do not buy, if you want to guive the money away call me and I take the money from you tanks.

Review by Goran, March 19, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
Overall Rating 55555
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 44444

In April 2010 I bought 2007 Volvo 780 with 2005 Rigmaster APU on it. So far I’m very happy with it . It works like charm from day one, it had some issues but it never let me down on the road like my truck. It starts from first shot at -35C and + 40C, it cools big Volvo 780 cab pretty good, except upper bunk when temperature is above 100F when it takes him little bit longer to cool it down to 70F where thermostat in cab is set. If truck breaks down I still can run APU and have heat or cooling and 110V electricity. Unit now has 7558 hours on it and so far I have replaced front engine cover gasket (oil leak),alternator, belts, radiator, engine speed sensor, exaust pipe, engine mounts, side panels and generator cover (rusted through because of lots of salt on Canadian roads during winter). What I noticed on 2005 model year they used quality parts like stainless steel bolts, nuts etc. All these repairs I did it myself , so I didn’t have to pay for labour.
Regarding getting parts for it was pretty easy for me because their main office is located in Scarborough,ON so whenever I need something I would stop by. They always had everything I was looking for. On negative side unit is louder than TRI PACS or CARRIER APUs (new Rigmasters should be quieter too, but newer had chance to hear any of them)and Perkins engine parts are bit pricey.

Review by Giovanni Socci, September 20, 2016

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111
Overall Rating 11111
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 22222
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

I bought a Rigmaster APU in 2007,for $7,000.00 cash,out the door tax included, one yr warranty,3 months later the company went out of bussiness,the name was bought out by another co.but they said they wouldn t honor the warranty on the units sold by the previous company
While it looked good at first,I noticed that it was too loud,and it wasn t heating my truck’s cab,it broke down constantly,and I had no warranty eventho it was new,I was paying 300.00 as high as 500.00 in maintenance/repairs some months,summer came and it was useless to cool the cab down,one day it broke down it had 2500 hrs,I never fixed it again.
I would never buy a Rigmaster apu again,I wouldn t take one if it was given to me,I d say with repairs and maint,plus price of unit I easily spent $10,000.00 in that that useless piece of junk.
I would recommend it to my enemies.

Review by Liesterine Fresh Burst, January 6, 2017

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
Overall Rating 11111
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 11111
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

Stay away from this APU. This company might be out of business soon. They lack customer support, they replaced their cat engine with a random engine that nobody knows how to fix, they are constantly making changes because their engineering is as bad as they get. This machine is unreliable and does not get the job done.

Review by Harvey Spectre, February 4, 2017

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
Overall Rating 11111
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 11111
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

This gotta be the utterly greatest dumbest piece of grabage there is. Someone is filling theirpockets with our money and giving us inexchange a pieceof crap.
Isimposibleto get service, parts or support on this machine, nt worth the money

Review by Johnny Pemberton, July 28, 2017

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
Overall Rating 11111
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 11111
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

WARNING DO NOT BUY.
I purchased my unit new in 2015. It has been nothing but a lemon. Rigmaster will not stand behind their product and replace it. Since day one it burns oil faster than a kerosene lamp. Belts, alternators starters second generator it only has 3600 hours on it it cost me a dollar an hour just to keep it running above what I paid for it these units are total junk.

Write a Review of Rigmaster Truck Generator

Overall Rating
Quality
Dependability
Serviceability
Effectiveness (AC & Heat)