Overall Rating3.823.823.823.823.82
Quality4.094.094.094.094.09
Dependability3.823.823.823.823.82
Serviceability44444
Effectiveness (AC & Heat)3.643.643.643.643.64

Thermo King Tripac APU

Thermo King Tripac APU

 

Tripac Evolution

TriPac_Evolution

Thermo King’s TriPac APU provides cost savings by reducing unnecessary fuel consumption, extending truck engine maintenance intervals and reducing wear on the truck engine.TriPac also allows truck owners to comply with anti-idling laws while the driver rests in comfort.

TriPac uses a fuel-fired heater and Thermo King’s Cycle Sentry start/stop technology to achieve maximum fuel efficiency. In cool climates, the TriPac engine will only operate if battery charging or engine block heating is required. If not, only the fuel-fired heater will operate to warm the cab while consuming minimal fuel.When battery charging and block heat are necessary, TriPac can automatically start to address those needs and then shut down to save fuel.The result of this approach is a system that runs substantially fewer engine hours than competitive models.

The available tractor integration option allows the system to start up automatically when the truck engine is turned off, ensuring a charged truck battery and warm engine block when it comes time to restart the engine.

TriPac now offers a 1,000-hour maintenance interval, allowing maintenance to be performed at the same time as maintenance on the tractor, saving time and eliminating additional downtime for APU maintenance.

Because of the modular component design,TriPac can be installed in a variety of truck models and configurations.The engine assembly, or APU, is mounted on the truck frame rails.The air-conditioning evaporator and fuel-fired heater are installed under the sleeper bunk, the condenser is installed on the rear cab wall, and the control panel is mounted on an interior wall of the sleeper.Ducting for the heat and air conditioning is also flexible. It can be routed directly to the cab or integrated with existing ducting.

A Thermo King two-cylinder diesel engine powers an air conditioning compressor and a 12-volt alternator, both of which are the belt-driven “automotive” style. These components power the air conditioning system, keep the truck batteries charged and provide tractor engine heat.The truck engine block is heated by incorporating the engine coolant systems between TriPac and the truck engine.This approach to engine block heat is very effective because the engines warm each other while running, to ensure easy starting in all climates.The system even incorporates engine coolant temperature sensing.

Incoming search terms:

11 Customer Reviews of “Thermo King Tripac APU”

Review by John D., April 1, 2011

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 22222
Overall Rating 33333
Quality 44444
Dependability 44444
Serviceability 33333
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 22222

I have had my Tri-Pac now for 2 years. I can say that it is dependable and I am happy about that. I have had a few minor problems here and there which is to be expected. What I don’t like is that Thermo King charges an arm and a leg when I do need repairs or service. I would probably give it 4 stars if the AC were more powerful. In the summers if the temperatures go any where near the 90s or higher the AC is pretty much useless and that is in my standard size cab.

Review by John Dear, August 16, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 33333
Overall Rating 44444
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 33333

Well I have to say that this thing runs like a Deere. It has only pooped out on me once. The cooling is not as powerful as many of the other APUs but it runs good so what can I say?

Review by Lee Frieze, November 7, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111
Overall Rating 11111
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 22222
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

I had my Tri-pac installed on my W900L in Sept.07. Since then I have had to have the heater blower motor replaced 4 times, heater totaly rebuilt twice plus numerous other repairs. heater ia again not working. sub total repair costs to date:
$5308.11 (not counting routine service). when I replace this unit it WILL NOT BE A TRI-PAC!!!

Review by Daniel, August 10, 2013

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111
Overall Rating 22222
Quality 11111
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 33333
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 11111

TERRIBLE Apu unit…..VERY undependable…constantly breaking down

Review by Alexei, November 16, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
Overall Rating 55555
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 55555

Great APU! The best on the market. It is quieter than most others and keeps me comfortable in all kinds of weather. Never has broken down once since I got it.

Review by TriPac Dude, August 14, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
Overall Rating 55555
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 55555

Great APU! The absolute best around. Go TriPac!!

Review by Ivan, March 21, 2016

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
Overall Rating 55555
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 55555

TriPac is number one! better than every APU on here

Review by Ivan, May 23, 2016

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
Overall Rating 55555
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 55555

go rock with the TriPacs going strong. trust TriPacs always to be number one!

Review by Mark Samples, September 14, 2016

  • 22222
  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 33333
Overall Rating 22222
Quality 44444
Dependability 11111
Serviceability 11111
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 33333

Tripac may be a big company but unless you own a reefer, you are just the red headed step child. I love how they put all of their service centers on their website yet half of them won’t work on the Tripac… just reefers. Made an appointment with the shop in Cincinnati, showed up on time and then waited 5 hours before they even looked at my APU. I cant even service the thing by myself without voiding the warranty. They are over prices to start with and then make you pay more to get all of the services while under warranty. When it works, it works great. When it doesn’t it cost me so much money in down time and then have to pay someone $200-$300 to do a simple PM service. Not sure what all else is out there but I am convinced that I can buy a less expensive unit that will allow me to do my own service and even small repairs myself and lose an entire day waiting on someone to fix what is wrong and still not have it fixed when I leave.

Review by Ivan, January 14, 2017

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
Overall Rating 55555
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 55555

These are the best units out there. they are dependable and TK people are really nice and helpful. TriPac will freeze you in the hottest temperatures of summer. whoever blamed TriPac for the faulty heater obviously doesn’t know a thing about how TriPacs work. the heater runs independently of the TriPac and isn’t even made by TK. as a matter of fact, you can get this heater installed without even having an APU. believe me, a TriPac will run forever with just a little normal maintenance and love from its owner.

Review by Richard Davis, January 27, 2017

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
Overall Rating 55555
Quality 55555
Dependability 55555
Serviceability 55555
Effectiveness (AC & Heat) 55555

I have had 3 different units on 3 different trucks,since 2000. I think on 1 the only thing i hand to fix was the cable on the alt. broke off. I had to replace a fuel pump on another. one time my belts broke, that’s about all the trouble i had with the gen. I had trouble one time with heater, all it was to much lit in it . I tried to have my unit worked on in only Birmingham,and Ocala, that includes changing the oil. They were nice at both places, in and out, most time 1-2 hrs., thats from the time i pull up there. I only had unit worked on 1 time, that wasn’t at one of them places, and didn’t like it, but it was going to be a week or two, before i got to the others, didn’t want to idle my truck that long, that was when i needed belt.

Write a Review of Thermo King Tripac APU

Overall Rating
Quality
Dependability
Serviceability
Effectiveness (AC & Heat)